About SBUT

South Bay United Teachers, a joint venture of Centinela Valley Secondary Teachers Association, Manhattan Beach Unified Teachers Association, Palos Verdes Faculty Association, and Redondo Beach Teachers Association, is administered by a Board of Directors – with representatives from each association.

The purpose of South Bay United Teachers is to provide the four local Associations and their members with programs and services, otherwise unavailable to them individually, through the employment of professional staff and the maintenance of complete office facilities. South Bay United Teachers and the four local associations are affiliated with the National Education Association and the California Teachers Association. Both of these organizations provide support for SBUT’s services and programs.

Mission Statement

South Bay United Teachers (SBUT) creates a vision for the ideal Association by establishing norms and best practices on behalf of our members. Ever mindful of our members’ district needs, SBUT provides information and training to our membership and coordinates how best to apply this knowledge to the work of the

South Bay United Teachers protects and promotes the well-being of its members while strengthening local associations in their ability to develop educational and organizational leadership. We provide best practices for united action and advance the education, human dignity and civil rights of all children and youth through promoting the quality and funding of public schools.

South Bay United Teachers employs professional staff and maintains a centrally located meeting hall and office facility to conduct business as per the UniServ agreement between South Bay United Teachers and the California Teachers Association/National Education Association.

Board of Directors

Temisha Brame (CV – Hawthorne)
Yury Najarro (CV-Hawthorne)
Shawn Chen (MB – Mira Costa)
Aaron Kofahl (MB – Mira Costa)

Tim Coleman (PV – Peninsula High)
Abby Maeder (PV – Vista Grande)
Geoffrey Watts (RB – Redondo Union)
Merlan Land (RB – Adams MS)

Samantha Weiss – (PV) CTA State Council
Jacquie Lewis-Wang (PV) CTA State Council
Temisha Brame – (CV) CTA State Council
Gina Tredennick (PV) CTA State Council

The Board of Directors meet monthly during the school year, first Wednesdays on the month* at the SBUT office.

*Exceptions indicated on calendar.